Archive Montreal Blog

Le Divan Orange

16.03.2018

Le Divan Orange is a co-operative cultural space, opened in 2004 by a collective of people who had previously been involved in the co-op Café Utopique that operated in the 2000s on Ste-Catherine near Berri (now L’Escalier.)

Occupying a large shoebox type ground floor that housed a few different bars since the 80s, prior to which it had been a retail location. The name was chosen from the orange divan that was parked on the wood floor near the entrance and next to a piano for many years. From the beginning, the walls exhibited different art by young and emerging local artists each month, in true underground vegetarian café style.
The stage hosted concerts, readings, galas, DJ nights and many other memorable performances, more than 2000 events over the years. Le Divan Orange was an important addition to a thriving arts and music scene in the Plateau, coming at a time when the important nearby venues Casa del Popolo and La Sala Rossa were booked to capacity. It also provided concert promoters with a hall in between the size and capacity of those two venues. After the earlier phase of small concert venues on St. Laurent being dominated by the Anglophone music scene at venues such as Purple Haze, Woodstock, Jailhouse, Bar St-Laurent and so on, Le Divan attracted a new generation of francophone bands and artists in the heart of this alternative music mecca.

La construction du Divan Orange, 1911. Répertoire de la Ville de Montréal.

Along with other neighbouring small and medium sized concert venues such as Les Bobards, Balattou, Le Petit Campus, Barfly, Club Lambi, Mainline, Le Belmont and further north, Green Room, Main Hall and Café Cagibi, Le Divan Orange was a key venue during what may now be considered as a golden age for the music scene in the Plateau. It would not be an exaggeration to say that these venues along with several important artist-run centres and galleries are a big reason why the Plateau district became so popular, and ironically, they are part of the reason for the surge in property values and residential development that has seen half of these venues stop hosting live music or close down.
Le Divan bore witness to too many important concerts, events, festivals and dramas to list in one blog post. The co-op was also an extended family that went through so much together, saw so many members in solidarity pass through contributing their sweat and determination for little pay.
Lest we forget, there was a vegetarian and non-vegetarian kitchen for many years. From lunchtime onwards, the space would be a refuge for nearby workers with their laptop taking a break from their usual office surroundings. Long before “co-working spaces” were a thing, neighbouring businesses and artists would take advantage of the relatively quiet afternoons there to hold meetings over their great espressos, lattes and snacks.

Le Divan Orange au début des années 90.


Also, for many years, “les 5 à 7” were legendary. In the summer, especially during the street fair or Fringe or Pop Montreal festivals, passersby on St. Laurent would take in often raucous performances from the sidewalk and street through the opened patio windows. There were monthly vernissages and countless launches of books, projects, and albums of all kinds, as well as various small craft and book fairs in the early years.
We at Arcmtl have had a close attachment to Le Divan Orange since its early days. It was the sixth concert venue to host a Distroboto machine, after those at Casa, Sala, Petit Campus, Pharmacie Esperanza (now Cagibi) and Le Cheval Blanc. Several Distroboto-related events, launches and anniversary parties were held there, and the Distroboto machine will remain until the closing concert, even featuring a special zine and music download from a member of the closing act Avec Pas d’Casque, Joel Vaudreuil. More than 800 different small artworks, cassettes, zines and mini-CDs or DVDs were sold through the Divan Distroboto over the years. Three different actual Distroboto machines operated in that space, in various locations as well as different layouts and renovations were undertaken over the years. Yet another, more modern upgraded machine was planned to replace the current Distroboto, but in the end that machine will be retired and likely stripped and sent to the scrapyard after Le Divan’s closure.

Arcmtl also hosted many of its annual Expozine Alternative Press Awards Galas at Le Divan Orange, featuring performances by Donzelle, Lederhosen Lucil, Cocobeurre, Nancypants, Nutsak, Tony Ezzy, Super Fossil Power, Otarie, and featuring such MCs as Roxanne Arsenault, Alexis O’Hara, Pascal-Angelo Fioramore and Jean-Luc Bonspiel.

In 2010, Arcmtl hosted a series of events at Le Divan Orange on the topic of the phenomenom of young Anglophone artists moving to Montreal to start their music or artistic careers. Among the promising performers selected by Arcmtl was one Claire Boucher, a recent arrival from Halifax who later achieved worldwide fame as Grimes, thanks also to her record label Arubutus run by an early member of the Le Divan co-op, Sebastian Cowan. One of Claire Boucher’s earliest releases was on mini-CD released exclusively through the Distroboto machines by Arcmtl to showcase these young musicians.

The circumstances leading up to the upcoming closing of Le Divan Orange are well-documented elsewhere on the Internet. Here, we want to salute everyone who passed through the co-op and the bookers, bands, artists and countless volunteers who made the space live and vibrate with energy all these years. You can click here to see a selection of Le Divan Orange concert posters drawn from the poster archives at Arcmtl. If you have any posters, flyers or other materials or even stories about Le Divan that you’d like to share with us, please don’t be shy to contact us through the contact menu item above or comment on this post. We’d love to know what your favourite concert or what you think were the most important concerts or events there. Our weekly radio show, Montreal Sound Ark on CKUT 90.3 FM from 15 – 17h on Fridays will devote a few shows around the closing of Le Divan to celebrating great local bands that played there and that are featured in the poster gallery.

We know that the closure of Le Divan Orange has not been easy on many of the members who may find themselves without work or with lingering debts, and hope that everybody in the music and arts community can think of them if they need any staff or experienced people to contribute to their own projects and venues. Running a non-profit arts venue is done out of love and devotion to the city’s amazing artists and not for personal fortune. Le Divan Orange deserved enormous thanks and congratulations from every artist they helped reach their audience. And from the audience, they deserve a long, loud standing ovation! Bravo, Le Divan Orange, we won’t forget you!

Nancy Pants lors de la 10ième anniversaire du Distroboto du Divan Orange, mai 2015.

Volume 1 MTL Art and the Book, fair and conference  
 77 MTL punk poster exhibit ARCMTL

Leave a Comment

Archive Montréal Blog

Le Divan Orange

16.03.2018

Le Divan Orange est une coopérative culturelle qui a vu le jour en 2004 par un collectif qui avait été impliqué dans la coop Café Utopique dans les années 2000 sur Sainte-Catherine angle Berri (maintenant l’Escalier).

Logé dans un grand local oblong au rez-de-chaussée qui a abrité différents bars depuis les années 90, Le Divan Orange avait autrefois été un commerce de détail, construit en 1911. Le nom a été choisi à cause du divan orange qui occupait l’espace près de l’entrée à côté d’un piano pendant plusieurs années. Dès le début, les oeuvres d’artistes émergents y ont été exposées chaque mois, dans l’esprit de café végétarien typique.

Ce lieu mythique a présenté des concerts, des lectures publiques, des galas, des soirées DJ, plus de 2000 événements en près de 15 ans d’existence. Le Divan Orange fut un élément crucial de la scène artistique locale du Plateau, faisant sa place alors que les lieux culturels existants tels que la Casa del Popolo et la Sala Rosa étaient déjà très occupés. Le Divan a aussi fourni un espace enviable aux promoteurs de concerts. Après la période où les concerts sur Saint-Laurent étaient principalement dominés par la scène anglophone dans des salles comme le Purple Haze, Woodstock, Jailhouse, Bar St-Laurent, le Divan a attiré toute une nouvelle génération de groupes francophones et d’artistes au coeur de cette mecque de la musique alternative.

La construction du Divan Orange, 1911. Répertoire de la Ville de Montréal.

Avec d’autres petites et moyennes salles de concert telles que les Bobards, Balattou, Le Petit Campus, Barfly, Club Lambi, Mainline, Le Belmont et plus au nord, Green Room, Main Hall et Café Cagibi, Le Divan Orange fut un endroit-clé pendant ce qui peut être considéré comme l’âge d’or de la scène musicale du Plateau. Il ne serait pas exagéré de dire que ces endroits, de pair avec plusieurs centres d’artistes autogérés et galeries, ont contribué à l’essor de la popularité de l’arrondissement du Plateau Mont-Royal, et ironiquement, ils font partie du problème de la gentrification et de la hausse des loyers qui ont vu fermer plusieurs de ces lieux importants pour la musique indépendante.

Le Divan a été le théâtre de tant de vives émotions à travers concerts, événements et festivals qui sont trop nombreux pour les nommer tous ici. Cette coop formait une famille élargie et solidaire, dont les membres ont travaillé à la sueur de leurs fronts et avec beaucoup de détermination pour un maigre salaire.

Il faut se rappeler aussi de la cuisine végétarienne et non-végétarienne qui y a perduré pendant plusieurs années. Dès l’heure du dîner, les employés des entreprises avoisinantes trouvaient refuge au Divan avec leur ordinateur portable. Bien avant que les espaces de coworking deviennent à la mode, les entreprises et les artistes du quartier venaient profiter de l’ambiance décontractée en après-midi pour y tenir leurs réunions en buvant d’excellents espressos, lattés et en dégustant de savoureuses collations.

Le Divan Orange au début des années 90.


Pendant plusieurs années, les 5 à 7 étaient immensément populaires. L’été, particulièrement durant les ventes trottoir et les festivals Fringe et Pop Montréal, les clients du Divan pouvaient profiter des spectacles hauts en couleur sur le boulevard Saint-Laurent par la vitrine ouverte. Des vernissages mensuels et une myriade de lancements de livres, projets et albums de toutes sortes, sans compter des foires d’artisans et de petits éditeurs ont eu lieu à cet endroit depuis ses débuts.

Arcmtl a établi un lien de confiance et une relation durable avec le Divan Orange à travers les années. Ce fut la 6e salle à accueillir une machine Distroboto, après la Casa del Popolo, Sala Rosa, Petit Campus, Pharmacie Esperanza (maintenant Cagibi) et le Cheval Blanc. Plusieurs lancements et anniversaires de Distrobotos y ont été tenus, et le Distroboto y restera jusqu’au jour du concert de fermeture d’Avec pas d’casque. Un zine spécial de Joel Vaudreuil, membre du groupe, incluant téléchargement de musique, est actuellement disponible dans les Distroboto. Plus de 800 différents petites oeuvres, cassettes, zines et mini-CDs ou DVDs ont été vendus au Distroboto du Divan. Trois différentes machines y ont été en opération, qui ont parfois changé d’endroit dans la salle suite à des rénovations. Encore une nouvelle machine devait y remplacer l’ancienne sous peu, mais elle sera finalement envoyée à un centre de recyclage après la fermeture du Divan. Arcmtl a aussi tenu plusieurs galas de la presse alternative Expozine au Divan Orange, mettant en vedette des prestations de Donzelle, Lederhosen Lucil, Cocobeurre, Nancypants, Nutsak, Tony Ezzy, Super Fossil Power, Otarie, et ayant été animé par Roxanne Arsenault, Alexis O’Hara, Pascal-Angelo Fioramore et Jean-Luc Bonspiel.

En 2010, Arcmtl a tenu une série d’événements au Divan Orange au sujet du phénomène des jeunes artistes anglophones qui venaient à Montréal pour débuter leur carrière musicale ou artistique. Parmi les artistes prometteurs sélectionnés par Arcmtl figurait Claire Boucher, fraîchement arrivée d’Halifax qui a par la suite obtenu un succès international sous le nom de Grimes. Merci tout spécialement à la maison de disques Arubutus gérée par un membre du Divan Orange, Sebastian Cowan. Une des premières parutions de Claire Boucher était sur mini-CD disponible uniquement dans le réseau Distroboto, dont le mandat est de faire découvrir les jeunes talents.

Les circonstances entourant la fermeture du Divan Orange sont bien documentées ailleurs sur Internet. Ici, nous aimerions saluer tous les gens qui sont passés par la coop et les “bookers”, les groupes, artistes et innombrables bénévoles qui ont rendu l’espace vivant et vibrant d’énergie pendant toutes ces années. Cliquez ici pour voir une sélection des affiches de concert du Divan Orange provenant des archives d’affiches d’Arcmtl. Si vous avez des affiches, affichettes, autre matériel promotionnel ou même des histoires au sujet du Divan que vous aimeriez partager avec nous, n’hésitez pas à nous contacter via le menu ci-haut ou commentez cette publication. Nous voulons savoir quel a été votre concert favori ou quels concerts ou événements ont été marquants selon vous. Notre émission de radio hebdomadaire, Montreal Sound Ark sur CKUT 90.3 FM de 15h à 17h tous les vendredis sera dévouée le 16 mars à commémorer la fermeture du Divan en célébrant des groupes locaux qui y ont joué et qui figurent dans la galerie d’affiches.

Nous savons que la fermeture du Divan Orange n’est pas facile à vivre pour ses membres qui se retrouvent sans emploi ou criblés de dettes, et espérons que les membres de la communauté artistique penseront à eux pour contribuer à leurs projets. Vouloir gérer un organisme sans but lucratif dans le milieu des arts est motivé par l’amour et la dévotion pour les merveilleux artistes de cette ville et non par l’appât du gain. Le Divan Orange mérite d’énormes remerciements et félicitations pour chaque artiste qu’ils ont aidé à rejoindre leur audience. Le Divan Orange, nous ne t’oublierons pas!

Nancy Pants lors de la 10ième anniversaire du Distroboto du Divan Orange, mai 2015.

 77 MTL exposition d’affiches punk ARCMTL

Laissez un commentaire