Archive Montreal Images

Expo 67: Avant-garde!

30.08.2017

50 years ago, Montreal hosted the largest gathering of avant-garde art and design ever seen! Expo 67 was the 20th century’s most successful World’s Fair, taking place during a time of both social and artistic upheaval around the world.

Arcmtl was proud to present an exhibit in May at the Cinémathèque québecoise as well as a evening of amateur and home movies featuring some of the wildest, most out-there art and installations seen at Expo 67. In June 2017, a second exhibit of printed and poster art from Expo 67 and from Montreal’s late 60s art scene in general was presented at Casa del Popolo, launched with a tribute concert to the infamous avant-garde music collective L’Infonie.

ARCMTL would like to thank the following for their contribution of material for the projections and exhibit: Micheline Dumas (for Maurice Demers), Richard Lacroix, Sael Lacroix, Robert Langevin, Richard La Roche, Gaetan Dostie, Conrad Jean, Éric Ruel, Brian Meagher, Billy Mavreas/Monastiraki, Désirée Rochat, Annie Hardy, Louis Pelletier, Caroline Martel, the Centre d’histoire de Montréal and the Cinémathèque québecoise.

The exhibits were made possible in part thanks to the support of the program Soutien à la diffusion du patrimoine montréalais de la Ville de Montréal. A detailed virtual exhibit of the artwork featured here will be presented on this website in the fall of 2017.

Kermesse littéraire du Plateau  
 GRANDE Print Art Fair 2017

Leave a Comment

Archive Montréal Images

Expo 67: Avant-garde!

30.08.2017

Il y a 50 ans, Montréal a accueilli le plus grand rassemblement d’art et de design d’avant-garde jamais vu ! Expo 67 fut la plus grande foire mondiale du 20e siècle, qui a eu lieu durant une époque de grands bouleversements artistiques et sociaux.

ARCMTL est fier d’avoir présenté une exposition à la Cinémathèque québécoise ainsi qu’une soirée de projection de films amateurs mettant en vedette les installations les plus folles et éclatées d’Expo 67. En juin 2017, une seconde exposition d’art imprimé et d’affiches d’Expo 67 et de la scène artistique montréalaise et des années 60 en général a été présentée à la Casa del popolo. Lors de la soirée d’ouverture, un concert hommage à l’Infonie, célèbre groupe d’avant-garde, a eu lieu à la Sala Rosa.

ARCMTL voudrait remercier les personnes suivantes pour leur contribution de matériel pour les projections et l’exposition : Micheline Dumas (pour Maurice Demers), Richard Lacroix, Sael Lacroix, Robert Langevin, Richard La Roche, Gaetan Dostie, Conrad Jean, Éric Ruel, Brian Meagher, Billy Mavreas/Monastiraki, Désirée Rochat, Annie Hardy, Louis Pelletier, Caroline Martel, le Centre d’histoire de Montréal et la Cinémathèque québecoise.

Les expositions ont été rendues possibles en partie grâce au support du programme Soutien à la diffusion du patrimoine montréalais de la ville de Montréal. Les oeuvres présentées lors de cette exposition pourront être consultées sur notre site web à l’automne 2017.

Kermesse littéraire du Plateau  
 GRANDE foire d’art imprimé 2017

Laissez un commentaire